The Nuisance of a Name

September 21, 2008

Hey folks, here’s the deal.

I’m working on jumping through all the legal hoops to get a license to sell my jams and preserves for real money. All that’s fairly easy once you know what you have to do.

The hard part is coming up with a name.

david matthew sounds kinda formal and a bit like a furniture collection (“Oh, I just love your couch.” “Thank you, it’s a david matthew.”)

But I also kinda like it.

I’ve been coming up a lot of good ideas, but nothing great.

That’s where you come in.

I’m looking for a name for my preserves business that would go on every jar and that would capture these adjectives:

high-end
elegant
fun
comfortable
tidy
delicious
artisan
hand crafted
Anyone got any bright ideas?
4 Responses to “The Nuisance of a Name”


  1. Matt’s Phat Jamz

    … no?

    Maybe something like… Preserves by David Matthew? Or something that makes it more clear that it’s not leather sofa sectionals?


  2. I’m pissed that you’re not using Matt’s Phat Jamz.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I can’t wait till you sell these! They are soooo good! I want one of everything you’ve made, and I want to give them as Christmas gifts. Maybe you could just start selling them underground for the Holiday season . . .

  4. Gaia Says:

    Speaking of underground, did you hear this week’s Splendid Table radio show? They did a bit on “underground restaurants.” Interesting angle you might be able to work with … for a while anyway!


Leave a Reply

